Please refer to ABRSM for more information on the Piano Grading / Marking Criteria.

There are Pass, Merit, Distinction & Fail results for ABRSM Grading exams. Examiners do not deduct points nor add up points to derive the results. It is based on the different aspects of qualities and proficiency.

The following are the components that make up the marking scheme for ABRSM Exam.

Components of exam There are 4 different components to a graded practical music exam. Specimen tests are available for home practice. 1. Pieces  – Performance of 3 pieces chosen & prepared, from a list during exam
(Pass: 20 onwards, Max: 30) for each piece

2. Technical – Scales & Arpeggios 
(Pass: 14 onwards, Max: 21) 
3. Sight-reading – With 30s of time given preparation given on the spot, student is to play a new piece of music provided
(Pass: 14 onwards, Max: 21)
4. Aural Tests – Rythmic, melodic and other music skills
(Pass: 12 onwards, Max: 18) 

ABRSM Exam Marking Criteria – Pieces
Please refer to ABRSM for more information on the Grading / Marking Criteria.

For pieces, students are assessed based on accuracy, continuity and fluency, tonal awareness, musical character and a sense of performance

For Grade 1 to Grade 8, to achieve the following band of results, one has to achieve the marks:

Distinction – 27 to 30
Merit – 24 to 26
Pass – 20 to 23
Fail – 19 & below

For PIECES ABRSM Exam marking criteria,
For Scales, Sight Reading ABRSM Exam marking criteria,
For Aural Tests ABRSM Exam marking criteria,
Please refer to ABRSM for more information on the Grading/ Marking Criteria.

For a quick reference of Fees of Piano exams, click here.

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.

× How can I help you?